Thank you!

I wanted to say thank you for all the wonderfully supportive responses I got from my last post. I had time to read them while I was getting ready for work but not time to respond until this morning. I was incredibly touched by the kind words and loving vibes I felt through those comments. I even got a bit watery eyed. It really did help to lift my spirits during my long night at work.

Yesterday I woke up feeling strangely relieved. I think it was good to finally get that off my chest and accept my situation.

I’m off to bed now. I’m knackered, but it’s a nice kind of tired.

Have a good, sober day x

5 thoughts on “Thank you!

  1. Paul S January 29, 2017 / 1:47 pm

    I think the greatest thing that ever happened to me was getting that weight off my shoulders. It was the most liberating thing. To have that clarity and knowledge that I cannot drink normally – well, that really opened my eyes to the ways of a new and better life. I hope it does the same for you.
    Blessings
    Paul

    Liked by 3 people

  2. nomore1117 January 29, 2017 / 3:12 pm

    I subscribe to soberrecovery.com newsletter. And this was in it. I wanted to Share because I feel like too often we think we need to be perfect. We think we can only do this if we never falter…. but that’s just not the realistic process for most of us. Myself included.

    This is # 5 on things we’ve got wrong about recovery:

    “5. It doesn’t require perfection.

    The most damaging lie anyone can tell themselves about recovery (whether in recovery or not) is that it requires you to be perfect, because it doesn’t. Recovery is about progress, not perfection.

    In fact, relapse is often considered a part of recovery. That isn’t to say that one is guaranteed to relapse, but that if someone does, it is not uncommon and can be expected. While the latter may seem pessimistic, it’s simply a “hope for the best, prepare for the worst” attitude. And, in most cases, that is what keeps people from becoming complacent, which is a dangerous place to be in recovery.

    The most important thing to remember when contemplating your future in recovery is that no matter how unknown and, therefore, potentially frightening a life in recovery may be, it certainly can’t be worse than what you’ve already experienced in active addiction. Whatever lies your ego has been telling you to keep you down there, they will become less and less believable in time. so stop buying into them. Instead, seek the truth and the help you need.”

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Untipsyteacher January 30, 2017 / 1:57 am

    Dear TOTW,
    I am sorry I didn’t get to read your post until today.
    But I want to say, that surrendering to the fact that I could not drink anymore, was the first day I finally could get sober.
    Alcohol was taking over my life and my happiness.
    It was taking over my marriage.
    Now I have those back.
    xo
    Wendy

    Liked by 1 person

    • tiredoftreadingwater January 30, 2017 / 9:48 am

      Thank you Wendy. Your kindness and light shine through your words – you deserve to have all those wonderful things back. Thank you for your support 🙂 xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

